Seeking Gondwana

My approach to painting has always been to let my eye, hand and heart  guide me. For the longest of time, painting landscapes for me meant a semi impressionistic style. While the form was still recognizable, the atmosphere was my real impulse for the picture.

Never one to remain in a box for very long, I  would use whatever style at hand to get my point across. But try as I might I could never let go enough to embark on an abstract piece until recently. For some strange reason, my hand and heart would not cooperate with me when I tried to paint a straightforward landscape.

Red earth and stark blue skies clashing with grey-green foliage sat awkwardly on my canvases. Until I abandoned form and painted the ‘idea’ of Australia…. Gaudy reds and ochres punctuating stark blues and clashing with grey-greens edged with vermillion all reflecting the raucous sounds of an orchestra of gallahs, corellas and kookaburras outside my window, making sure I awaken at sunrise.

So it would appear I am off on another adventure dictated by my inner eye, hand and heart.

About Ros Charron

Painting is my meditation. When I put brush to canvas or pen to paper the world around me dissolves and I have a single purpose. I'm inspired by everything around me but especially by water, reflections, refractions, ripples, bubbles, distortions, things that live on the surface and submerged. Water is like my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave comments below

